No Fucking Title for Now.

While walking home from Eric’s this morning, I came across an ancient lady German Shepherd, clearly lost and clearly deaf. She was just wandering aimlessly around, crossing in and out of traffic. People angrily honked their horns and made their wheels shriek in an ‘IM REALLY IMPORTANT’ huff as they sped off, not thinking, perhaps, to call animal services. Not. One. Person. Walking, or otherwise made an effort to help this dog who was in distress. Men in cars actually fucking leered and winked at me as I tried to point out this dog. She wasn’t rabid or weird, just old, lost and deaf. A being that has served its fucking time on the planet deserves more than a barrage of angry thoughts. I followed her down an alley on Howard Park where she proceeded to eat some garbage, on hold with ‘Animal Services’. Now, I understand that these services are only as good as their resources, and the fact that they eventually (just now) told me there was nothing they could do was just an exhausting thing to hear. But I didn’t get to hear that, out there on the street because my phone died. I started running from business to business, begging the use of their phone just so I could report where the dog was. Nobody agreed. Not even fucking ‘Alternative Grounds’, holier-than-thou organic, free-trade coffee selling, ORGANIC PUPPY BISCUIT MAKING hipster coffee shack extraordinaire. The frizzy haired frump face behind the counter merely sighed and said, ‘yeah, you’d have to be really quick though and they won’t be that quick.’ Oh. I’m sorry, you must have a million orders for…. FOR WHAT??? At 8 am!? I left muttering, ‘your fucking dog water pail is empty outside, by the way.’

Now, this always happens. Just when I dare myself a little influx of faith in human character and spirit, something like this happens. It makes me grind my teeth and wish for sterilization for at least ten years, just so people can wake the fuck up. I wouldn’t dream of contributing to an already suffocating population just to tell my kid, ‘hey, by the way, you can only rely on yourself and beings that are down and out are garbage.’ The dog will most likely be hit and killed by one of those kids before anyone else stops to call it in. But, just so you all know, there’s an anthem to the cruelty of today wandering around on Roncesvalles and High Park.

Leave a Reply

